All LA County Library locations will be closed on Wednesday, June 19 in observance of Juneteenth. Our digital library is open 24/7.


Gardena Mayme Dear Library 150 150 LA County Library

Gardena Mayme Dear Library

Gardena Library was born under the sponsorship of the Wednesday Progressive Club before the Los Angeles County Free Library was founded in 1912. In 1914, Gardena Library became a branch of the new County System. Only a few months later, the library was transferred to the jurisdiction of the Los Angeles City Library Board due…

read more
Hermosa Beach Library 150 150 LA County Library

Hermosa Beach Library

The Ocean View School on Monterey Blvd., where the St. Cross Church now stands, housed the first library. In 1913 it became a part of the Los Angeles County Public Library system, occupying a room in the Walker Building on the northwest Corner of Pier and Hermosa Avenues. On August 10, 1962, after forty-five years…

read more
Lomita Library 150 150 LA County Library

Lomita Library

The Los Angeles County Free Library was a little over a year old when the Lomita community applied for service. A branch was established in a local clubhouse in June 1914 with 232 books which were mostly donated, 14 registered card holders, and a volunteer custodian in charge of the library. By 1918 its original…

read more
Manhattan Beach Library 150 150 LA County Library

Manhattan Beach Library

Manhattan Beach Library was started as a subscription library in 1910 by the Neptunian Women’s Club of Manhattan Beach. The library became part of LA County Library in January 1915, making it one of the oldest continuing libraries in the county system. The library moved into a separate building in 1957 and to its current…

read more
Masao W. Satow Library 150 150 LA County Library

Masao W. Satow Library

In 1958, two branches (Moneta, opened in 1913 and Strawberry Park opened in 1919) merged into West Gardena Library. A fire in 1969 caused the branch to move into a new building. The new building located at 14433 S. Crenshaw, was dedicated on February 26, 1977, in honor of Mr. Masao William Satow. Mr. Satow…

read more
Skip to content