Skip to content

twitter  facebook  instagram pinterest  flickr 
career online high school summer reading free or discounted museum passes we can help you with your homework find an online class

New Teen Books: March 2018

Brand new titles just ordered for the library with publication dates. Place your holds today!

Find more reading suggestions at Books & Media.

book jacket

Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton

As Amani Al'Hiza leads a skeleton crew of rebels on a desperate rescue mission to a mythical city, she is faced with a choice: will she sacrifice herself to save her country? Rebel of the Sands, Book 3

Release date: 3/06/2018

book jacket

Mapping the Bones by Jane Yolen

Chaim and Gittel, 14-year-old twins, live with their parents in the Jewish ghetto in Nazi-occupied Lodz, Poland. When their plan to escape the ghetto fails, the twins are sent to a forced labor camp, where they must find a way to survive the plans of a brutal doctor. Fans of Yolen's The Devil's Arithmetic will find this realistic retelling of Hansel and Gretel fascinating.

Release date: 3/06/2018

book jacket

After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay

When his best friend Bunny accepts a basketball scholarship to a private high school, Nasir feels angry and abandoned, and doesn't realize that Bunny is also struggling with his new situation. Then Nasir's cousin Wallace gets in trouble betting on high school basketball games, and Nasir can see only one way to save him: ask Bunny to throw the state championship.

Release date: 3/06/2018

book jacket

Restore Me by Tahereh Mafi

Juliette, who can kill with a single touch, has taken over Sector 45 and is now the Supreme Commander of North America. But will she be able to control her power, and use it to confront the darkness in and around her? Shatter Me, Book 4

Release date: 3/06/2018

book jacket

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

King Saran banished magic from the kingdom of Orïsha by slaughtering all the maji in the land. Eleven years later, 17-year-old Zélie embarks on a dangerous quest to restore magic, with the help of the King's daughter and a stolen relic. The first in a planned trilogy, this beautiful, intense fantasy will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Release date: 3/06/2018

book jacket

Twelve Steps to Normal by Farrah Penn

Kira has spent the last 8 months with her aunt in Oregon, waiting for her father to complete his alcohol rehab program. When she returns to her small Texas hometown, she is dismayed to find that her father has invited other recovering alcoholics to live in their home, and that her friends -- and her boyfriend -- have moved on without her. A heartfelt exploration of how to move forward when your "normal" life has disappeared.

Release date: 3/13/2018

book jacket

Time Bomb by Joelle Charbonneau

In this tense thriller, a bombing at a high school traps six students inside. Although they have little in common, the students are forced to work together to survive, despite growing suspicion that one of them is the bomber.

Release date: 3/13/2018

book jacket

Astonishing Color of After by Emily X. R. Pan

After her mother's suicide, 15-year-old Leigh sees a beautiful red bird who brings her a box of mementos from her mother's childhood. Believing the bird to be the spirit of her mother, and wanting to understand her death, Leigh travels to Taiwan to meet her mother's family and dig into her mother's past.

Release date: 3/20/2018

book jacket

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles

The life of college-bound Marvin Johnson spirals out of control when his twin brother is killed. Although the police claim Tyler's death was the result of gang violence, an online video tells another story. Marvin knows he won't be able to move on until he's found justice for his brother. Readers of The Hate U Give will be drawn to this haunting exploration of racism, brotherhood, and grief.

Release date: 3/20/2018

book jacket

Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

Bone witch Tea, who can both take life and resurrect the dead, must seek the cure for a mysterious sleeping sickness affecting the royal families, while resisting the lure of the Dark which calls her to embrace evil. Bone Witch, Book 2

Release date: 3/20/2018

book jacket

Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi

College freshman Penny meets her roommate's 21-year-old uncle, Sam, and makes an awkward connection that deepens through their texting conversation. But can Penny and Sam break out of their shells enough to have a relationship in real life? Highly recommended for fans of Eleanor & Park.

Release date: 3/27/2018

book jacket

Lost Crow Conspiracy by Rosalyn Eves

16-year-old Anna Arden could not have predicted the chaos created when she broke the Binding that limited magic to the upper-class Luminate. Caught between the demands of the magical, newly-freed Praetheria and the fear of the nobility, Anna turns to Matyas, the King of the Crows, to help her prevent a war. Blood Rose Rebellion, Book 2

Release date: 3/27/2018