Skip to content

twitter  facebook  instagram pinterest  flickr 
career online high school summer reading free or discounted museum passes we can help you with your homework find an online class

May / June 2018 Collection Spotlight

Here are some great titles for your reading and listening pleasure as selected by the staff of Collection Development Services. Selections include children’s picture books and fiction about a bear’s love of honey, learning to enjoy life beyond math, and about fresh starts. Nonfiction for kids include a biography of Chester Nez, learn about baby animals, and fun facts about World Cup. The A/V selections include biographies of Paul Simon and Robin Williams on audiobook. Teen fiction includes learning to look beyond the surface and a twisted mystery thriller. Adult fiction includes an epic military fantasy and a refugee’s journey. Adult nonfiction includes a look at physics’ influence in evolution, the impact Sex and the City in how we think about love and sex, and how tango brought balance to one woman’s life. Spanish nonfiction includes food truck recipes from around the United States.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & Media.

 Honey book jacket

Honey by David Ezra Stein

A young bear wakes from hibernation craving honey, but soon recalls the many things he can enjoy while waiting for his favorite food to be ready. Also available in: eBook.

Picture Book

 The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl book jacket

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty

Surviving a lightning strike that has given her genius-level math skills, 12-year-old Lucy is offered entry into college but reluctantly takes her grandmother's advice to attend one year of middle school, make a friend, join a club, and read a non-math book. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Children's Fiction

 Ebb and Flow book jacket

Ebb and Flow by Heather Smith

Last year, Jett and his mother moved to a new town for a fresh start after his father went to jail. But Jett soon learned that fresh starts aren't all they're cracked up to be. When he befriended a boy with a difficult home life, Jett found himself in a cycle of bad decisions that culminated in the betrayal of a friend - a shameful secret he still hasn't forgiven himself for. Will a summer spent with his unconventional grandmother help Jett find his way to redemption?

Children's Fiction

 Chester Nez and the Unbreakable Code book jacket

Chester Nez and the Unbreakable Code by Joseph Bruchac

As a young Navajo boy, Chester Nez had to leave the reservation and attend boarding school, where he was taught that his native language and culture were useless. But Chester refused to give up his heritage. Years later, during World War II, Chester--and other Navajo men like him--was recruited by the US Marines to use the Navajo language to create an unbreakable military code. Suddenly the language he had been told to forget was needed to fight a war. Also available in: eBook.

Children's Nonfiction

 Baby Animals Moving book jacket

Baby Animals Moving by Suzi Eszterhas

Around the world, baby animals move in different ways. Whether it's egret chicks practicing flapping their wings, zebra calves learning to run just a few hours after they're born, or baby orangutans hanging onto their moms as they swing through the jungle, baby animals on the go are not only adorable--they can teach us about animal behavior, too.

Children's Nonfiction

 The World Cup: Soccer's Global Championship book jacket

The World Cup: Soccer's Global Championship by Matt Doeden

The World Cup is international soccer's championship tournament, and it rules the global sports stage. This book explores the history of international soccer and covers the World Cup's greatest moments, from the Save of the Century to Diego Maradona's Hand of God goal to the United States Women's National Team's dominance. The most shocking goals, the greatest upsets, and the fun and fanfare of soccer's biggest event are all here.

Children's Nonfiction

 Paul Simon book jacket

Paul Simon by Robert Hilburn

Robert Hilburn offers an intimate and inspiring narrative that helps listeners finally understand Paul Simon the person and the artist, including new and absorbing insights into his most enduring songs. Also available in: eBook.

Audiobook on CD

 Robin book jacket

Robin by Dave Itzkoff

Dave Itzkoff delivers the definitive audiobook biography of Robin Williams. A compelling portrait of one of America's most beloved and misunderstood entertainers. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Audiobook on CD

 The Way You Make Me Feel book jacket

The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo

Clara Shin has dedicated her time in high school to snarky comments, surface-level friendships, and practical jokes. But when a prank goes too far, her normally-chill dad sentences her to a summer of working on his LA-based food truck, named the KoBra (for its fusion of Korean and Brazilian dishes). To make matters worse, her fellow forced laborer is her nemesis, Rose Carver. As Clara and Rose navigate the tight quarters of the truck, and the daily challenges of kimchi pasteis and cute boys in coffee shops, Clara begins to wonder if Rose is really as terrible as she thought… and if maybe Clara herself should rethink her approach to family, friends, and life. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction

 The Lies They Tell book jacket

The Lies They Tell by Gillian French

Six months after a fire consumes the Garrison mansion and four members of the Garrison family, 18-year old Pearl Haskins strikes up a relationship with Tristan, the only surviving Garrison. It’s unclear to Pearl what Tristan wants with her, as rich summer visitors rarely give locals like her the time of day, but she knows what she wants: to know how and why the Garrisons were killed. Pearl’s dad was the night watchman at the mansion, and Pearl is determined to clear him of the accusations of negligence that have ruined his business, even if she has to put her own life in danger to do it. Fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars will appreciate this dark and twisty mystery. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Teen Fiction

 The Poppy War book jacket

The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang

To avoid an arranged marriage, war orphan Fang Runin, known as Rin, practically kills herself studying for the annual Keju exam, and succeeds in winning an entrance to Sinegard, the most elite military academy in the Nikara Empire. Shunned by her classmates for her background and skin color, Rin takes the unusual path of studying Lore, and discovers that she has the shamanic ability to call on the powers of a god…but only at great cost. As war threatens the Empire, and she is faced by the horrific, brutal actions of the enemy, she must choose whether saving her own nation is worth the loss of her humanity, and the potential destruction of the world as she knows it. An intriguing epic military fantasy perfect for fans of Ken Liu's The Grace of Kings. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Adult Fiction

 The Map of Salt and Stars book jacket

The Map of Salt and Stars by Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar

12-year-old Nour, born and raised in Manhattan, moves with her family to Syria in the summer of 2011 after her father dies of cancer. Nour’s mother hopes to find healing from her grief among their family in Syria; instead, they are all forced to flee when bombs destroy their home in the city of Homs. As the family travels as refugees through North Africa, Nour comforts herself by retelling the story of Rawiya, a young woman living in the 12th century who disguised herself as a boy to apprentice with a famous mapmaker. The lives and journeys of the two girls run parallel as they each struggle to survive their journeys and find their place in an uncertain and hostile world. Library Journal calls The Map of Salt and Stars “a wise, vibrantly told story…particularly relevant now.” Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Adult Fiction

 The Equations of Life: How Physics Shapes Evolution book jacket

The Equations of Life: How Physics Shapes Evolution by Charles S. Cockell

We are all familiar with the popular idea of strange alien life wildly different from life on earth inhabiting other planets. Maybe it's made of silicon! Maybe it has wheels! Or maybe it doesn't. Biologist Charles S. Cockell makes the forceful argument that the laws of physics narrowly constrain how life can evolve, making evolution's outcomes predictable. If we were to find on a distant planet something very much like a lady bug eating something like an aphid, we shouldn't be surprised. The forms of life are guided by a limited set of rules, and as a result, there is a narrow set of solutions to the challenges of existence.

Adult Nonfiction

 Sex and the City and Us: How Four Single Women Changed the Way We Think, Live, and Love book jacket

Sex and the City and Us: How Four Single Women Changed the Way We Think, Live, and Love by Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

This is the story of how a columnist, two gay men—Darren Star and fellow executive producer Michael Patrick King—and a writers’ room full of women used their own poignant, hilarious, and humiliating stories to launch a cultural phenomenon, pushing the boundaries of television and ignited a national conversation about single women and sex in the process. While the show’s feminist merits continue to fuel debate, it taught viewers—male and female, gay and straight—about sex, and demonstrated that single women could support each other through life’s tribulations, even as men came and went.

Adult Nonfiction

 Tango Lessons: A Memoir book jacket

Tango Lessons: A Memoir by Meghan Flaherty

Tango was an unlikely choice for Meghan Flaherty. A young woman living with the scars of past trauma, she was terrified of being touched and shied away from real passion. But by her late twenties, she knew something had to change. She dug up an old dream and tried on her dancing shoes. In tango, there’s a leader and a follower, and, traditionally, the woman follows. As Meghan moved from beginner classes to the late-night dance halls of New York’s vibrant tango underground, she discovered that more than any footwork, the hardest and most essential lesson of the dance was to follow with strength and agency; to find her balance, regardless of the lead. And as she broke her own rule—never mix romance and tango—she started to apply those lessons in every corner of her life.

Adult Nonfiction

 Food truck : libro de cocina : las mejores recetas de la carretera book jacket

Food truck : libro de cocina : las mejores recetas de la carretera by Kim Pham

The authors travelled across the country to compile these authentic food truck recipes. Los authores viajaron por todo el país para recopilar estas auténticas recetas de comida en camiones.

Spanish Nonfiction